Scratch Map Review

I’ve been after a map to document where I’ve been for years so when my parents bought me a scratch map for Christmas last year I thought it was the perfect gift!

The scratch map is a fun way to keep track of where you’ve been and it really puts into perspective how large the world is and how little of the world you actually see on a single trip. It’s very easy to scratch off a destination and the greens and browns make it easy to tell where you have been and where you haven’t.

SCRATCH MAP REVIEW 3

The only thing I don’t like about the map is that some of the countries are tiny and hard to scratch off without scratching other neighbouring countries. In some cases, I have had to scratch the whole country, even if I haven’t actually seen the whole country. However, the US and Australia are broken down into states which makes it really easy to scratch off just the states I’ve been to, rather than marking the whole country as “visited” when realistically I haven’t seen the whole country.

The map comes rolled in its own protective cardboard tube with a sheet of parchment paper to stop any of the countries scratching off while in storage. The map is pretty small which makes it perfect to hang up on the wall but if you do keep it stored in the tube you’ll need to roll it up which means it’s always curly.

SCRATCH MAP REVIEW 2

I think the map makes the perfect gift for someone who loves to travel however I’m still on the lookout for the perfect large canvas map to document all of my trips.

I give the scratch map four stars.
4 stars


How do you keep track of where you’ve been? Let me know in the comments below!

Yellow Octopus sell a variety of quirky travel products which make perfect gifts for a traveller you know. Check them out at yellowoctopus.com.au

Ash
xx

Leave a comment